Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

A New Step For North Shore Historical Museum Restoration

Interior of Court Building Courtroom To Capture 1907 Look

With the exterior renovation of the Justice Court Building completed, the North Shore Historical Museum has begun restoration of the interior of this historic landmark building, the museum’s future home.

As part of its restoration the museum plans to restore the Court House courtroom to its original 1907 look. This will include a full cathedral ceiling with Tudor detailing, exposed trusses, four wagon wheel chandeliers and the original number of windows for daylight.

“This is an extremely exciting time for us”, Brian Mercadante, president of the museum said, “With the exterior work completed and the current interior work under way we can begin to envision this historic building housing the archives and artifacts of this unique area of Long Island. But keep in mind we still need the financial help to continue these efforts to completion”.

Mr. Mercandante added, “When this work is completed and the Museum is opened it will be a tremendous asset to our community bringing countless visitors to view the resurrection of this extraordinary landmark and to enjoy the wonderful contents it will hold within its doors”.

The building, a National and State Landmark, was originally built in 1907 as a courthouse and jail for the Town of Oyster Bay, but soon became a City Hall for the then-new City of Glen Cove. Over the past hundred years the building has served in a variety of capacities.

The North Shore  Historical Museum has been charted by the NY State Department of Education to collect and exhibit artifacts and archives of Long Island’s North Shore. For membership and further information visit our website, www.northshorehistoricalmuseum.org or call 759-6970.