Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Park District Bruins Win Season Championships

The Great Neck Park District Bruins hockey season finished off with a bang. Three of the five teams advanced to the LIAHL Playoffs. The Bruins Peewee and Bantam teams competed in the championship playoff games on Saturday, Feb. 18 and Sunday, Feb. 19, at the Andrew Stergiopoulos Ice Rink. On Saturday at 12:15 p.m. the Peewees faced-off against the Freeport Arrows in their semi-final game. During the thrilling competition, the Arrows notched the first goal midway through the third period. That lead lasted only four minutes, as the Peewees came through and tied the game forcing a ten-minute “sudden death” overtime. It didn’t take the Peewees long; just over two minutes to score the winning goal, advancing them to Sunday’s championship game. On Sunday, the Peewees were challenged by L.I. Rebels. Both the Peewees and the Rebels remained tied in wins and points during the regular season. The Peewees succeeded in the final game, destroying the Rebels with a 9-3 win, gaining the championship victory. The Peewees include Kevin Becker, Conner Campbell, Justin Chavez, Colin Chindris, Matt Cirillo, Liam Donelan, Tyler Khani, Daniel Lopes, William Machado, Caleb Marks, Nick Mauriello, Brendon McNulty, Tzvi Meltzer, Patrick Muller, Christian Patten, Grace Pavlovich, Sheldon Plotkin, Corey Rutkin, Dylan Silverstein and Justin Utic.

At 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 18, the Bantams hit the ice after finishing their regular hockey season in first place and were hoping to capture the second consecutive championship trophy. After the semi-final game they were halfway there, outscoring the Silver Knights 9 to 4. During the finals on Sunday, the Bantams and Rebels competed in what would be a goaltenders worst nightmare. The Bruin Bantams got their wish, as the game ended with a score of 8-7, achieving yet another season championship. The Bantams include Sean Chalker, Matt Cohen, Louis Demarco, Sean Donelan, Peter Dunn, Jake Epstein, Jamie Esperto, Chris Heyer, Matt Katz, Lucas Kranacher, Ben Levitan, Paul Majewski, Brandon Muller, Nick Nikas , Austin Plasker, Darren Patten, Justyn Tesoriero and Andrew Voigt. Congratulations to both teams! The weekend of Feb. 25 and 26, the Midget Minor Team will be competing in the playoffs at the Dix Hills Rink, 575 Vanderbilt Parkway. Everyone is welcome to cheer our Bruins on!