Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Cusato, Pereira Re-elected to Mineola Village Board

Williston Park Elects a New Mayor

In the annual Village of Mineola annual election, trustees Paul Cusato and Paul Pereira were re-elected to another two-year term. The election did not attract much interest this year since Cusato and Pereira both ran unopposed.

The two trustees will serve another term on the board that includes Mayor Jack M. Martins, Deputy Mayor Larry Werther and Trustee Tom Kennedy.

A total of 480 votes, including machine votes and absentee ballots, were cast for trustee. Cusato collected 338 and Pereira collected 314.

In addition, Village Justice John O’Shea was also re-elected as he ran unopposed. A total of 454 votes were cast for village justice with O’Shea picking up 332.

Mayor Martins, Werther and Kennedy will all be up for re-election next March. However, the village board could be severely impacted before then.

Mayor Martins has announced he is running for the New York State Senate 7th District against incumbent Craig Johnson. If Mayor Martins should emerge victorious, he would then take office in January. The Mineola Board of Trustees would then have to appoint a mayor. That appointed mayor, if he were already a member of the board, would then appoint a trustee to take his seat on the board. The appointed mayor and trustee would then have to run in March 2011.

Cusato and Pereira will both be sworn in during annual organization night, which will take place on Monday, April 5 at 7 p.m. in the Mineola Village Hall Community Center.

While the Village of Mineola may have had a quiet election year, the Village of Williston Park did not. In a three-way race for mayor, Paul Ehrbar defeated incumbent Lud Odierna and Alan Reardon by collecting 687 votes. Reardon collected 481 while Odierna collected 480. Ehrbar is the husband of former Mayor Doreen Ehrbar, who preceded Odierna.

In the race for Williston Park Village Trustee, Terry Thomann and Kevin Rynne were elected over Susan Redding and William LoRusso.