Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

St. Dom’s Fifth Grade Girls Win CYO Championship

You could watch a lot of soccer and it will be a long time before you see a game that was as exciting as the playoff between St. Dom’s and St. Aidan’s on Saturday, Nov. 19. The Bayhawks were down early and had to come back from a deficit. Katherine Williams saved several goals while playing defense and Erica Duke tied it up with 4 minutes left as regulation play ended in a 1-1 tie. Then the fun really began.

The Bayhawks brought out their mascot, cried, prayed, and a real live hawk flew over the soccer field. It would take all of that for the girls to win a double overtime; quadruple shootout game. The shootout became a sudden death match as Nicole Coccia put her kick in and Molly Milano came up with a big save for a 2-1 St Dominic win. An unbelievable finish to a well played soccer game.

Championship Game

On Sunday, Nov. 20, the Bayhawks played for the CYO championship at Merrick Park against Our Lady of Lourdes. The St. Dom’s defense did not let up any goals. Catherine McAuliffe, Grace Wiesienfeld and Nicole Coccia scored and St. Dom’s won the CYO Championship 4-0.

Congratulations to the CYO Girls champions. Everyone is very proud at what these girls have accomplished; 12-0 during the season and a championship too! Truly a dream season for all involved.

Key defenders for St. Dom’s have been Brooke Regan, Sidney Cunningham, Lindsey Purcell, Isabella Moore, Catherine Williams, and Emma McGuckin. The offense for St. Dominic scored over 42 goals this season and spread out the scoring among its many talented players who were Nicole Coccia, Molly Milano, Catherine McAuliffe, Julia Cutajar, Grace Wiesenfeld, Erica Duke, Hannah McLaughlin, Charlotte Mahon, Victoria Monteleone, Laura Regan, Caroline Finelli, and Sarah Pantina. The team is coached by Tom Regan and Frank Monteleone.