Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Local Residents Part of Candidate Slate

Lee Tu to Challenge Kaiman  In TNH Supervisor’s Race

The Nassau County Republican Party has announced its preliminary list of that party officials expect to challenge the Democrats in the county and Towns of Hempstead, North Hempstead and Oyster Bay on Election Day 2009.

Among them is Albertson resident Lee Tu, who is expected to challenge incumbent Jon Kaiman in the Town of North Hempstead’s supervisor’s race. Tu has served as executive leader of the Albertson, Roslyn Heights Republican Committee since 2004 and a committeeman since 1996.

This year, Wink will be challenged by another Albertson resident, Jeff Losquadro. Another local resident, Michael Montesano of Glen Head, will run against current Deputy Presiding Officer Diane Yatauro in the 18th L.D.

On May 14, the party officially nominated its main challenger for the November elections. County Legislator Ed Mangano (17th L.D. – Bethpage) was officially tabbed to challenge Thomas R. Suozzi for county executive on Nov. 3.

Additional nominations, originally scheduled to take place at the party’s May 21 convention at Levittown’s Wisdom Lane Middle School were postponed, as was an executive committee meeting, due to swine flu precautions. A new date for the convention was not set as of press time.


Nassau County


Since both Mangano’s and Suozzi’s terms are both up for re-election the same year, the legislator cannot hold onto his seat and challenge the county executive. As of press time, current Oyster Bay Town Councilwoman Rose Marie Walker, a Republican from Hicksville, will run for the 17th L.D.

With the exception of Mangano, all of the Republican Party’s incumbent legislators are expected to seek re-election with the challengers for all Democratic-run district being brought forth.

In addition to Tu, Losquadro, Montesano, and Mangano, the other Republicans’ candidates, as of press time are:

Elton McCabe of Uniondale against Kevan Abrahams (1st L.D.); Derek Partee of Hempstead against Roger Corbin (2nd L.D.); Dr. Garry Stark of Great Neck against Judith Bosworth (10th L.D.); Rebecca Alesia of Plainview against Judith Jacobs (16th L.D.); and Dr. Fred Jones of Merrick against Dave Denenberg (19th L.D.).

Additionally, three Republicans who have run against incumbent Democrats in the legislature before are expected to do so again. Joseph Belesi is challenging David Mejias (14th L.D); Chris Browne challenging Joseph Scannell (5th L.D.); and Howard Kopel is challenging Jeffrey Toback (7th L.D.).

 Countywide seats are also up for re-election this year. County Clerk Maureen O’Connell, the only Republican currently holding an elected countywide position, is expected to seek re-election; George Maragos of Great Neck is expected to run against Howard Weitzman, the Democratic incumbent, for comptroller; and Joy Watson, a former assistant district attorney and current principal law clerk to Supreme Court Justice Karen Murphy, is expected to run against Democratic District Attorney Kathleen Rice.

Please note: Nassau County Assessor is now an appointed position.


Town of Hempstead


At a kickoff event May 22, Republican Hempstead Town Supervisor Kate Murray, along with Town Clerk Mark Bonilla and Councilmembers Anthony Santino and Gary Hudes announced they will seek re-election. Republican Tracy Worthy of Hempstead is expected to run against Dorothy Goosby, the town’s sole Democratic board member.


North Hempstead Town


In other North Hempstead races, the Republicans have selected Jon Paul Wicks of Carle Place to challenge incumbent Leslie Gross for the position of town clerk. And, in the race for two open seats on the town board, Democratic incumbents Robert Troiano and Lee Seeman are seeking re-election.

 Westbury resident Karin Campbell is expected to challenge Troiano; a candidate has not yet been named for Seeman’s position. Additionally, Angelo Ferrara, the only Republican on the North Hempstead Town Board, announced he will seek re-election.


Oyster Bay Town


In the Town of Oyster Bay, Republican Supervisor John Venditto, Town Clerk Steve Labriola and Councilmembers Joseph Pinto, Chris Coschignano and Elizabeth Faughnan are all seeking re-election.