Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Wheatley Field Hockey Team Receives State Recognition

The Wheatley School’s Varsity Field Hockey team has been recognized by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) for academic excellence and has been declared New York State Team Champions in its Scholar/Athlete Recognition Award Program. This program, which was initiated by NYPHSAA 21 years ago, recognizes athletic teams from across New York State for the exemplary academic performance of its team members.  Based upon a composite of the grade point averages among team members, team champions are selected for each varsity sport from those high schools across New York State that enter the competition.

In the 21-year history of the NYSPHSAA Scholar/Athlete program, the field hockey team GPA of 98.591 is the highest recorded GPA in the sport of field hockey. This remarkable accomplishment is a credit to the athletes who have had to balance the demands of a rigorous academic schedule with the long hours of practice and competition required to successfully compete in interscholastic athletics at the varsity level. 

Wheatley is proud of the recognition the team has earned and offers its congratulations to coaches Kristin Adamski and Kristina DePalma, and to the members of the field hockey team.  At the East Williston School District Board of Education on December 19, 2011, the field hockey team and coaches were honored and presented with the Scholar/Athlete State Championship banner from Barbara Seller, the Section VIII field hockey coordinator. The team members are as follows:

Ana Ainechi, Yasmine Ali, Captain, Renita Alexander, Leah Anderson, Alice Chang. Jocelyn Cheung, Nicole Degliomini, Ashley Gerstenblatt, Leslie Katz, Stephanie Kazhiloti, Gabriella Leccese, Stacie Lessoff, Captain, Anum Mitha, Samantha Palazzolo, Jennifer Plonski, Julie Rajman, Namita Reddy, Julia Scalera, Ashley Shapiro, Samantha Siegler and Kristin Tarnok.

The Varsity Field Hockey team is the 17th Wheatley varsity athletic team to have received New York State Championship honors for academic excellence in the past 11 years. The other teams winning state honors were Boys Indoor Track (2000-2001 and 2008-2009), Boys Basketball (2002-2003 and 2006-2007), Girls Basketball (2003-2004, 2009-2010), Girls Indoor Track (2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2007-2008 and 2008-2009), Girls Track and Field (2004-2005, 2005-2006 and 2006-2007), Girls Soccer (2005-2006), Boys Soccer (2009-2010) and Girls Field Hockey (2008-2009).