Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Syosset School Board Congratulates All-State Musicians

The Monday, Nov. 15 Syosset Central School District Board of Education meeting was quite brief, but there was still time to celebrate the exalted place that music holds in the community. Not only were the high school musicians congratulated, but there was a musical performance from the middle school students as well.

The cash-on-hand total for the period ending Sept. 30 was $33,719,819.02. In board news, president Dr. Marc Herman noted that the board recently attended the Syosset High School PTSA Meeting, the PTA General Council Meeting, and the Superintendent’s Conference Day.

In the Superintendent’s Report, Dr. Carole G. Hankin thanked the teachers and administrators who volunteered to teach other teachers during Superintendent’s Conference Day. She also noted the success of several high school students: two seniors who won positions in the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories “The Partner for the Future” program, Daniel Kim and Deanna Zhu, and fellow senior Karan Sikka, who was recognized as a semifinalist in the prestigious Siemens Competition.

Hankin also reminded parents to be mindful of possible delayed school openings as the cold weather settles in, noting that even rain can sometimes lead to a delay. She advised parents to check their e-mail for information about delays before sending children out to wait for the bus in winter weather.

Michael Salzman, music coordinator for the district, introduced the students who were selected to perform with the New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) All State Performing Ensembles- 22 students in all. The All State performers are Kimberly Allan, Katherine Banos, Alyssa Bossio, Brett Burian, Yeon Seon Cheong, Christopher Chung, David Cohen, Benjamin Hadar, Risa Israeloff, Jasmin Jacob, Daniel Kim, Ellen Kim, Victor Leung, Dorothy Li, Alex Lombardi, Cindy Niu, Christine Rosenblatt, Christina Trivelli, Ronald Wee, and Deanna Zhu.

“I’m not at all sorry that it’s taking this long…[at] most schools, it doesn’t take anywhere near this long,” joked Saltzman as the procession of all 22 students approached the stage and shook hands with every board member.

The introduction of the All-State performers segued into a musical performance by students from both district middle schools, who demonstrated part of their general music curriculum. Students from South Woods performed with small instruments called hand chimes, while the students of Thompson Middle School performed with several different kinds of drums. While the instruments may have seemed simple, the elaborate musical numbers the children performed together were not.

Thirty-five resolutions were put to a vote, all of which passed. One resolution, entitled “Withdrawal from the RTTT Program” specified that the district will no longer be participating in the Race To The Top competition. The meeting agenda explained the withdrawal with the following: “Requirements in terms of staff, training, and operational expenses will exceed the district’s sub-grant allocation under the RTTT program.”

Other resolutions included the appointment of three teachers to tenure, authorization for a contract with Nassau BOCES for transportation services for 2010-2011, and the acceptance of a donation of a blue spruce pine tree. The next board of education meeting will take place on Monday, Dec. 20 at 8 p.m. at the South Woods Middle School Auditorium.