Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Nassau’s Newest Legislators Sworn In

Delia DeRiggi-Whitton representing the 18th Legislative District

On Monday, Jan. 2, a ceremony was held at the Nassau County Legislative Chamber for the inauguration of representatives of the 9th Nassau County Legislature. The hour long event welcomed the addition of two new Legislators:  Delia DeRiggi-Whitton (D- Glen Cove) and Carrie Solages (D-Elmont).

DeRiggi-Whitton, who will represent the 18th District, which encompasses Glen Cove, Sea Cliff, Bayville, Locust Valley, Brookville, Glen Head, Greenvale and Jericho, defeated Republican challenger, Robert Germino Jr., by a 29-vote margin. DeRiggi-Whitton, a former member of the Glen Cove City Council, will replace Legislator Diane Yatauro who did not run for re-election.

“This is an exciting day and I look forward to working with my new colleagues to address the important issues that face the county and make sure that Nassau remains one of the best places to live, work and raise a family,” said Delia DeRiggi-Whitton.

Solages, who will represent the 3rd Legislative District, which is comprised of Elmont, Franklin Square, North Valley Stream, Bellerose Terrace, South Floral Park, and portions of Valley Stream and West Hempstead, defeated 14 year Republican incumbent John Ciotti.

For the next two years the Republicans will hold a slim 10-9 majority in the Legislature, but require 13 votes to approve any bonding.

Newly elected Minority Leader Kevan Abrahams (D-Freeport), stressed the need to work together in a bipartisan manner with the Republicans to address Nassau’s dire fiscal issues.