Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Some Budgets Pass, Others Fail On Super Tuesday

On Super Tuesday, 10 proposed 2010-2011 school district budgets across Long Island were rejected. While residents of Carle Place and East Meadow voted in favor of their district’s spending plans, the residents of Westbury turned down the proposed budget.

The results of the May 18 school budget vote and board of education elections are as follows:

Carle Place School District

Residents of the Carle Place School District voted 822 to 518 in favor of the $44,646,051 spending plan for 2010-2011.

In the race for school board trustee, Lawrence F. Zaino, Jr., who sought re-election unopposed, received 1,055 votes while two write-in candidates, Joanne Polumbo and Randall Mark, received one vote apiece.

East Meadow School District

In the East Meadow School District, residents voted 2,429 to 1,611 in favor of $178,184,341 spending plan for 2010-2011.

In the race for school board, the results are as follows: Jeffrey Rosenking received 1,886, defeating incumbent Abby Rothchild-Kaplan, who received 1,536; Joseph Parisi, who sought re-election unopposed, received 2,319 votes; Marcee Rubinstein, running unopposed, was re-elected with 2,090 votes. With 2,002 votes, Corey Fanelli defeated Steven Jacobs who received 1,353; and Joseph Danenza received 1,773 votes, defeating Robert Kuschner, who received 1,711. Fanelli and Danenza were both sworn-in following the vote.

The East Meadow Public Library’s 2010-2011 budget was also approved 2,416 to 1,516. Additionally, Ellen Matichek, who sought re-election unopposed to the library’s board, received 2,166 votes.

Westbury School District

For the fifth time in eight years, residents of Westbury rejected the school district’s spending plan on Super Tuesday. A total of 838 residents voted against the district’s proposed $106,215,920 budget for 2010-2011 while 772 residents supported it.

At press time Monday, Karin Campbell, president of the seven-member board, said a decision as to whether or not it would be the same proposed budget up for a revote, revise it and put it up again, or operate under the contingency plan of $105,287,370 had not been reached.

The deadline for the board to render a decision is June 1 – 14 days prior to the statewide revote date of June 15.

In the race for school board, seven people were vying for three at-large seats. Rodney Caines, Leslie Davis and Siela Bynoe were elected to the board, defeating Rod Bailey, Pablo Sinclair, Stan Ercolano and incumbent Larry Wornum. Vote totals are as follows: Caines, 1,036; Davis, 979; Bynoe, 901; Bailey, 844; Wornum, 785; Ercolano, 730; and Sinclair, 373. Trustee terms are three years running from July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2013.