Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Westbury Student-Athletes Honored at Spring Athletic Awards Night

Approximately 100 students were honored for their commitment to both athletics and academics, during Westbury High School’s Spring Athletic Awards Ceremony.

Players from Westbury’s Girls Varsity Badminton, Boys Varsity Baseball, Girls Varsity Softball, Boys Varsity Track and Boys Varsity Tennis teams received awards and recognition for their outstanding efforts and accomplishments. In addition, the Boys Varsity Track Team was honored for having won the Nassau County AA Championship, while the Girls Varsity Badminton Team was recognized for earning the New York State Public High School Scholar Athlete Award.

Director of Athletics Doric Capsis commended the players for their commitment to both athletics and academics, and thanked the parents, coaches, teachers, staff and administrators who have supported them. He also recognized two coaches who are retiring this year, Coach Shirley Bonner and Coach Camille Lupa. Both coaches were honored for their outstanding dedication to Westbury’s student-athletes.

The following students received Westbury Athletic Department 2009 Spring Awards:

Varsity Baseball
MVP Award: Nicholas Arevalo
MIP Award: Billy Casseus
Dragon Award: Hashim Naveed, David Leon and Serge Saint Preux 

Varsity Badminton
MVP Award - Singles: Hermina Paul
Doubles: Shanice Ross and Jessica Garcia
Dragon Award: Philana Nedd and Nancy Guevara

Varsity Boys Tennis
MVP Award - Singles: David Elias
Doubles: Mark Louis and Aldo Gatica
MIP Award: Kevin Saab
Dragon Award: Edmund Wang, Jose Canas, David Elias, Joseph Watson and Jonathon Owhe 

Varsity Spring Track Girls’
MVP Award: Marlene Ricketts and Iasia Benymon
MVP FIELD: Shequanna Cooper
MIP Award: Jillian Horne
MIP FIELD: Shelly-Ann Baugh
Dragon Award: Jameila Grant
Spirit Award: Monai Laster
Rookie Award: Raven McDonald and Lynda Nicholson

Boys Varsity Spring Track
MVP Long Distance Award: Owen Skeete
MVP Mid Distance Award: Lamard Herron
MIP Track Award: Rani Nimblette
MIP Field Award: Jair Edwards
MIP Field Award: Hugh O’Brien
MIP Sprinter Award: Jimmy Potepa
MIP Sprinter Award: Davion Williams
Dragon Award: Jabari Redd, Eric Banks, Jean Saint Germain and Lutalo Boyce
Rookie Award: Bernard Panton
Pole Vaulting Award: Isaiah Cangro

Exceptional Freshman Award:
Shamare Allen

Varsity Softball
MVP Award: Christina Davis
MIP Award: Andrene Wright
Dragon Award: Rachel Ulysse, Alexander Turner and Meagan Davis